Duke of Westminster's Medal for Military Literature Shortlist 2009

Westminster medal good smallRUSI is pleased to announce this year’s shortlisted titles for the 2009 Duke of Westminster's Medal for Military Literature. Six titles were chosen to go on to the shortlist from 50 books originally submitted. The shortlist is as follows:

Masters and Commanders: How Roosevelt, Churchill, Marshall and Alanbrooke Won the War in the West
Andrew Roberts

A Choice of Enemies
Lawrence Freedman

Ascent of Money: A Financial History of the World
Niall Ferguson

Marlborough: England’s Fragile Genius
Richard Holmes

Rivals: How the Power Struggle between China, India and Japan will Shape our Next Decade
Bill Emmott

War since 1990
Jeremy Black

A winner will be chosen from these submissions, to be confirmed by 1 June. Following this, the prize and lecture will be held on 1 July, from 12:30 to 14:30 in the library at RUSI.

Created with the support of His Grace, The Duke of Westminster’s Medal for Military Literature has been awarded annually since 1997. The award is bestowed annually for the best book in the English language by a living author, regardless of nationality, gender or age, which represents in the opinion of the Awarding Board a notable and original contribution to the study of international or national security, or the military professions. Previous winners of the medal include: Hew Strachan, N.A.M. Rodger, John Keegan, Marrack Goulding, Percy Cradock and last year’s winners, Professor Chris Bellamy and Max Hastings.

For further information about this award visit rusi.org/westminstermedal

Explore our related content