2013 Shortlist Announced for the Duke of Westminster's Medal for Military Literature

Westminster Medal Small BadgeThe Royal United Services Institute is pleased to announce that the following books have been selected for the 2013 Duke of Westminster Medal for Military Literature shortlist. The final winner will be announced at the annual award ceremony in November this year.

The Shortlist

Allan Mallinson

1914: Fight the Good Fight: Britain, the Army and the Coming of the First World War

(Transworld Publishers)

David Scott

Leviathan: The Rise of Britain as a World Power


Mark Mazower

Governing the World: The History of an Idea



Emile Simpson

War From The Ground Up: Twenty-First Century Combat as Politics

(Hurst Publishers)

Anne Applebaum

Iron Curtain: The Crushing of Eastern Europe 1944-56


John Philip Jones

Johnny: The Legend and Tragedy of General Sir Ian Hamilton

(Pen and Sword Books)

About the Award

Created with the support of The Duke of Westminster, the Duke of Westminster's Medal for Military Literature has been awarded annually since 1997. The award is given to a book by a living author, regardless of nationality, gender or age, who makes a notable and original contribution to the study of international and national security and defence.

Last year's winner was Sir Max Hastings for his book, All Hell Let Loose: The World at War 1939-1945 (harper Press).

For further information about the RUSI Duke of Westminster's Medal for Military Literature, go to www.rusi.org/westminstermedal  

Explore our related content