Duke of Wellington Medal for Military History: 2019 Winners Announced

John Hussey and Helen Parr received prizes for their books, Waterloo: The Campaign of 1815 and Our Boys respectively. The winners emerged from a strong shortlist of authors writing on military history.

Waterloo: The Campaign of 1815 (Greenhill Books) is a two-volume work that offers a sweeping and tactical account of the battle of Waterloo, while taking a wider view of the campaign as a whole. Hussey’s work is especially impressive due to the scope of the project and the fact that he carried out the research in four languages.

Our Boys (Allen Lane) explores the story of the Parachute Regiment during the Falklands War. Parr’s book touches upon aspects of military history often overlooked in its classic interpretations: soldiers’ experiences of trauma, loss and post-traumatic stress disorder. This novel approach is not only deeply touching account of one aspect of the Falklands War, it is also unique.

Helen Parr and John Hussey will discuss their books at an award ceremony at RUSI at 1800, Thursday 27 June 2019.


  • Lords of the Desert- James Barr, Simon & Schuster UK
  • The Last Battle: Endgame on the Western Front - Peter Hart, Profile Books
  • Vietnam - Max Hastings, Harper Collins U
  • Pandora's Box - Jorn Leonhard, Harvard University Press
  • The Spy and the Traitor - Ben Macintyre, Penguin


Explore our related content