Related RUSI articles

Duke of Westminster's Medal for Military Literature

Westminster Medal Small Badge

Created with the support of The Duke of Westminster, the Duke of Westminster's Medal for Military Literature has been awarded annually since 1997. The award is given to a book by a living author, regardless of nationality, gender or age, who makes a notable and original contribution to the study of international and national security and defence.

The following books have been shortlisted in 2014:

Margaret MacMillan

The War that Ended Peace:
How Europe abandoned peace for the First World War

(Profile Books)

Eric Schlosser

Command and Control

(Allan Lane)

Rana Mitter

China's War with Japan, 1937-1945: The Struggle for Survival



Roger Knight

Britain Against Napoleon:
The Organization of Victory, 1793-1815


Richard Overy

The Bombing War: Europe, 1939-1945


Sir Lawrence Freedman

Strategy: A History

(Oxford University Press)

2013 Winner

Anne Applebaum

Named 2013 recipient, for her book:

Iron Curtain: The Crushing of Eastern Europe 1944-56


Watch the presentations from 2013

  Anne Applebaum Duke of Westminister medal


Royal United Services Institute
61 Whitehall
London SW1A 2ET

RUSI Annual Report
RUSI crest 2
Access the 2014-2015 Annual Report for the Royal United Services Institute for Defence and Security Studies
RUSI Library of Military History
Library Home Card
A unique collection of national historical and cultural importance.
New Benefits
Membership badge
A greater range of membership packages announced
Follow RUSI
Follow RUSI through Twitter, Facebook and RSS feeds