The Inaugural Airey Neave Memorial Book Prize

calendarclock - (GMT)

In the wake of the killing of Airey Neave by Irish terrorists in 1979, the Airey Neave Trust was established through public subscription, to further research and understanding in relation to Freedom under the Law, and especially about issues regarding the analysis of and the best response to terrorist violence.

Over the years since its foundation, the Trust has enabled people to produce work of a high calibre and of enduring significance in this field – examples include books by Dr John HorganWalking Away from Terrorism: Accounts of Disengagement from Radical and Extremist Movements, James HarkinHunting Season and James FergussonThe World’s Most Dangerous Place:  Inside the Outlaw State of Somalia and Al-Britannia, My Country.  The Trust has also funded events which have furthered discussion and debate and appropriate response - including a consultation at St George’s House on Countering Violent Extremism Post Arab Spring and a National Security Fellowship Scheme on Countering IEDs and Detecting Home-made Explosives.

THE AIREY NEAVE TRUST & POOL REINSURANCE LTD would like you to join them for the Inaugural Airey Neave Memorial Book Prize Drinks Reception taking place at RUSI. The award will be presented by Lord Evans of Weardale KCB DL, former Director-General of the British Security Service and a cheque for £5,000 will be handed over to the winning author by Julian Enoizi, CEO of Pool Reinsurance Company.

The four books in the short list are:

  • Al-Qaeda's Revenge:  The 2004 Madrid Train Bombings - Fernando Reinares & Bruce Riedel (Columbia University Press)
  • Anatomy of Terror: From the Death of bin Laden to the Rise of the Islamic State - Ali Soufan (W. W. Norton &Co)
  • Hacking ISIS: How to Destroy the Cyber Jihad - Malcolm Nance & Christopher Sampson (Skyhorse Publishing)
  • Soldier Spy - Tom Marcus (Penguin Books)

The members of the judging panel are:

  • Sir David Veness CBE, former  Under-Secretary General of the UN Department of Safety and Security
  • Brigadier Ed Butler CBE DSO, Head of Risk Analysis and a member of the Executive Management team at Pool Reinsurance Ltd and senior advisor to EDF Energy (Nuclear) Generation.
  • Michael Bottenheim, Non-Executive Director and member of the advisory board of Montrose Associates.
  • Sir David Omand GCB, former UK Security and Intelligence Coordinator, former Permanent Secretary at the Home Office and former Director, GCHQ
  • Professor Michael Clarke former Director General of the Royal United Services Institute

There are 20 places available to RUSI Members. To apply for a place please email Sophie Butler at

Explore our related content