The US Cyberspace Solarium Commission: An Exclusive Briefing on the Commission’s Recommendations

calendarclock - (BST)

An exclusive briefing by members of the US Cyberspace Solarium Commission.

Commissioners Samantha Ravich and Chris Ingles, and Executive Director Mark Montgomery, will present the Commission’s recommendation, delivered to the US Congress last month. The Cyberspace Solarium Commission, a bipartisan commission on defending the United States against cyber aggression, consists members of Congress and leaders of federal agencies. It delivered its recommendations to Congress last month. The event will be chaired by Elisabeth Braw, director of RUSI’s Modern Deterrence project.


Dr Samantha F Ravich was appointed to the Cyberspace Solarium Commission by then Speaker of the House Paul Ryan (R-WI). She is the Chair of the Centre on Cyber and Technology Innovation at the Foundation for Defence of Democracies and its Transformative Cyber Innovation Lab; the Vice Chair of the President’s Intelligence Advisory Board; and a member of the Secretary of Energy's Advisory Board and AI subcommittee.

John C "Chris" Inglis, was appointed to the Cyberspace Solarium Commission by Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY).  He is a former Deputy Director of the National Security Agency, currently serving as the Looker Distinguished Visiting Professor of Cyber Studies at the United States Naval Academy. While at the NSA, he served in a variety of senior leadership assignments, including eight years as its Chief Operating Officer.

Mark Montgomery serves as the Executive Director of the Cyberspace Solarium Commission. He most recently served as Policy Director for the Senate Armed Services Committee under the leadership of Senator John S McCain.  Mark also served for 32 years in the US Navy as a nuclear trained surface warfare officer, retiring as a Rear Admiral in 2017.  His final flag officer assignments included Director of Operations (J3) at U.S. Pacific Command.

Explore our related content