RUSI Council


Her Majesty the Queen


His Royal Highness The Duke of Kent KG, GCMG, GCVO

Senior Vice-President

General (Retd) David H Petraeus


Lord Hutton of Furness      


Vice Admiral Rory McLean CB OBE


Mr David Abrahams

Lt Gen The Hon Sir Thomas Boyd-Carpenter KBE

Dr James Hay

Sir Paul Lever KCMG

Dr Alexander Mirtchev

Professor Sir David Omand GCB

His Grace The Duke of Westminster KG CB CVO OBE TD CD DL

Mr John Weston CBE


Sir Roger Bone KCMG

Lt Gen Sir Robert Fry KCB CBE

John Howe CB OBE

Lord Hutton of Furness

Mr Andrew Jamieson

Mr Sam Keayes

Mr Mike Maiden

Vice Admiral Rory McLean CB OBE

Mr Stephen Phipson CBE

Lt Gen Jonathon Riley CB DSO

Dr Kathryn Vagneur

Mr Ian Willis

Advisory Council

The Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP

Ms Jane Attwood

Mr Stephen R Ball

Mr Tim Banfield

Rt Hon Sir Menzies Campbell MP

Lord Dobbs of Wylye

Mr John Dowdy

Professor Vernon Gibson

Mr Nik Gowing

Mr Robert Hannigan

Mr Bob Keen

Dr Jamie MacIntosh

Dr Greg Mills

Mr Richard Norton-Taylor

Mr Andrew Parker

Mr Wesley Paul

Mr David Pitchforth

Sir Peter Ricketts GCMG


Brigadier-General Michael Dabros

Professor Vernon Gibson FRS

Brigadier Antony Hayward

Rear Admiral Karl-Wilhelm Ohlms

Brigadier  General John T Quintas, USAF

Rear Admiral Henri Schricke 

Brigadier William Sowry

RUSI Annual Report
RUSI crest 2
Access the 2012-2013 Annual Report for the Royal United Services Institute for Defence and Security Studies
RUSI Library of Military History
Library Home Card
A unique collection of national historical and cultural importance.
New Benefits
Membership badge
A greater range of membership packages announced
Follow RUSI
Follow RUSI through Twitter, Facebook and RSS feeds